top of page

Skilled Migration

Skilled Migration refers to a range of visa options for those skilled workers who want to live in Australia permanently.


These include options for skilled people applying as independent migrants as well as those sponsored by a relative or nominated by a State or Territory government.


Visa Options
  • Skilled Independent visa - subclass 189

  • Skilled Nominated visa - subclass 190

  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa - Subclass 491


Basic Requirements
  • Be invited to apply

  • 45-year-old or younger

  • The nominated occupation matches your skills and qualifications and is on the relevant skilled occupation list

  • Pass the skill assessment

  • Have at least Competent English

  • Score at least 65 under the points test

  • Meet the health and character requirements


What's the process
  • GSM visas are point-tested visas. In other words, The Australian immigration authority will award you points based on your circumstances and invite you to apply for a visa if you meet the passing mark

  • Australia employs an automatic system called Skill Select for this task. The Skill Select system involves a few critical checkpoints – Express of Interest (EOI), Database, Ranking, Occupation ceiling, and Invitation


Express of Interest (EOI)
  • From July 2012, if you would like to migrate to Australia using your skills, you are required to inform the Australian immigration authority that you would like to obtain a Permanent visa with your skill

  • You will need to provide information such as your personal particulars, educational background, and working experience


Database and Ranking
  • Once the database has gathered the information you have provided, it will screen your data and award you points based on various criteria

  • If you attained a passing mark on the points test, your EOI will be put on the ranking. EOI with higher points will be ranked higher.

  • For two EOI scoring the same points, the EOI lodged earlier will be ranked higher


  • Based on the number of invitations that will be given each round, the invitation will be given out to the EOI in accordance with the ranking

bottom of page