top of page

General Skilled Migration Program | Subclass 189 | Subclass 190 | Subclass 491

What is General Skilled Migration (GSM)?

Usually, when we talk about General Skilled Migration (GSM), it is a stream of visas that include:

  • the Skilled Independent (subclass 189) visa

  • the Skilled Nominated (Subclass 190) visa or

  • the Skilled Regional Nominated (Subclass 491) visa

These visas are points-test base visas and do not require an employer to sponsor your visa. You can apply either by independent, state/territory sponsored or family-sponsored.

Subclass 189 and Subclass 190 are permanent visas, and subclass 491 is a provisional visa with a pathway leading to permanent residency.


Key Elibilibily Requirements:

Subclass 189

Points-tested stream

Subclass 190

Subclass 491

Be invited




Be nominated or sponsored


Nominated by state/ territory government

Nominated by state/ territory government;

Or sponsored by an eligible relative